Asean Agreement On Transboundary Air Pollution

Following severe land and forest fires from 1997 to 1998, ASEAN Member States (AMS) signed the ASEAN Convention on Cross-Border Pollution of Haze (AATHP) on 10 June 2002 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, to prevent, monitor and mitigate cross-border forest fires and forest fires through concerted national efforts, regional and international cooperation. The agreement was reached in 2002, but it has some basis in a 1990 agreement between ASEAN environment ministers, which called for efforts to harmonize practices to prevent and reduce cross-border pollution. [5] Cross-border pollution has been on ASEAN`s agenda for 25 years. Key milestones include the 1985 Agreement on Nature and Natural Resources Conservation, the 1995 Cross-Border Pollution Cooperation Plan and the Haze Technical Task Force Monitoring Group, and the establishment of the ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Haze in 1997, which gave rise to the Haze Regional Action Plan (RHAP). All of these entities were soft legislation entities and therefore had no legal effects or obligations for environmentally harmful Member States. Indonesia was the last ASEAN country to ratify the agreement in 2014, twelve years after it was first signed in 2002. [10] Concerns remain about the Indonesian government`s ability to monitor and change the problem. On 10 June 2002, the governments of the ten ASEAN member states signed the ASEAN Haze Cross-Border Pollution Agreement in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The agreement is the first regional agreement in the world that commits a group of Community Member States to combat cross-border pollution from forest fires and forest fires. It has also been seen as a global model for dealing with cross-border issues. Given the different periods of the traditional dry season in the northern (mekong) and southern regions of ASEAN, two sub-regional air pollution steering committees have been established to address specific drought-related problems in the regions concerned: the sub-regional Haze Pollution Steering Committee (MSC), composed of Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand; and the Sub-Regional Ministerial Steering Committee on Haze Cross-Border Pollution in the Mekong Sub-Region (MSC Mekong), composed of Cambodian PDR, Laonese, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam.

The MSC and MSC-Mekong both met separately each year. Each MSC and MSC Mekong is assisted by a technical working group (GTT and TWG Mekong). The ASEAN agreement on cross-border haze pollution is a legally binding environmental agreement signed in 2002 by the member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations to reduce pollution in southeast Asia. [1] The agreement recognizes that cross-border pollution caused by forest fires and/or forest fires should be mitigated by a concerted national effort and international cooperation. But despite the countless treaties, agreements and institutions, the cross-border tur remains a problem. Moreover, ratification of the agreement by all Member States is unlikely to affect existing efforts to tackle the problem, since, as in most (if not all) ASEAN agreements, the agreement is still supported by respect for the `ASEAN way`. The formal procedure or system of rules that characterizes this agreement is the « ASEAN way » of regional norms and codes characterized by principles of non-interference, consultation, consensus, silent diplomacy, symbolism and organizational minimalism. [7] Cross-border pollution has appeared annually in Southeast Asia, particularly in the southern countries of the region, Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia. This has resulted in a large number of environmental, economic and health impacts.

ASEAN has attempted to address this problem, including through the 2002 ASEAN Convention on Haze Cross-Border Pollution.

Ce contenu a été publié dans Non classé par admin1. Mettez-le en favori avec son permalien.